“Cinnamon Mornings and Chocolate Dreams” by Pamela Lanier (2003)

On New Year’s morning I wanted to make something different for breakfast.  I chose a recipe  from this book compiled by Pamela Lanier, who has a wonderful website that lists bed and breakfast inns around the world.  I love bed and breakfasts, so that’s why I bought this cookbook several years ago, especially since it was on sale. 

Not having preplanned what to cook, I had to find a recipe using ingredients I had on hand.   “Iron Skillet Baked Apple Pancake” (from Inn at the Crossroads in Charlottesville, Virginia) it was.  I don’t own a large cast iron skillet (or any large 450-degree ovenproof  skillet as the recipe calls for), so after I sauteed the apples in a skillet, I assembled everything in a 9″ x 13″ baking dish and it turned out fine.  Too bad, because I was looking for an excuse to purchase a large cast iron skillet.   The cinnamon permeated throughout the house as the pancake baked in the oven; it truly was a “cinnamon morning”.  This dish was perfect for a leisurely New Year’s morning at home.

Published in: on January 6, 2010 at 10:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://karenscookbooks.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/cinnamon-mornings-and-chocolate-dreams-by-pamela-lanier-2003/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

