“Waffles from Morning to Midnight” by Dorie Greenspan (2001)

I think I’ve only made one recipe out of this book in the past.  It was “Banana-Oatmeal Waffles” which were good if I remember correctly.  The cover photo on this cookbook made me crave traditional breakfast waffles with maple syrup for dinner; however, I went with a savory waffle recipe instead:  “Broccoli-Cottage Cheese Waffles”.  I happened to have fresh broccoli and cottage cheese in my fridge that I had no plans for, so this was the perfect recipe to use them up.  The only problem I had with this recipe was that it had me add so many ingredients into the food processor that the liquid overflowed.  I have a trusty Cuisinart food processor whose only fault is the relatively low maximum liquid level (I’d love to have the new Cuisinart Elite which has a rubber gasket in the lid).  I forgot about this, so it left a bit of a mess.  Next time I’ll use the blender. 

I did as the cookbook suggested and made open-faced grilled cheese sandwiches with these waffles.  Pretty good, but I like the waffles plain as a snack too.  Warmed and crisped-up in a toaster, they are reminiscent of a gourmet potato chip.  This cookbook does have recipes for waffle chips, so I’m not too far off.  “Basil-Parmesan Waffle Chips with Balsamic Tomatoes” and “Tuscan White Bean Waffle Chips with Garlicky Bean Puree” sound delicious!

Published in: on December 11, 2009 at 10:35 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://karenscookbooks.wordpress.com/2009/12/11/waffles-from-morning-to-midnight-by-dorie-greenspan-2001/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Now I’m craving waffles!


Leave a Reply

